How I Think About Investing After Retiring at 35

Balancing income and growth to survive on my savings

Pranshu "Maverick" Dwivedi
7 min readMay 20, 2024
Photo by Carlos Muza on Unsplash

Most people think of their retirement corpus as their savings at roughly 60 years old or thereabouts.

In my case, I quit my job and decided I’d saved enough to live off of it at the age of 35. I plan to make my money work for me while I spend time with my kids as a stay-at-home dad.

With a 12-year career in finance, I believe I’d be capable of being smart enough with my money and doing a better job actively managing my money.

Six months into my early retirement, I’ve been able to devise a strategy that balances my risk and reward and gives me stability of income, security of capital as well as the opportunity to generate outsized rewards.

Here is my step-by-step approach to prudent money management.

Step 1 — Identifying the magical number

I’d be naive if I started with simply explaining how to manage your savings before addressing the elephant in the room.

How do you know in the first place that you even have enough?

The short answer is never. Because life is unpredictable and you can never know for sure. However, you can make your best guess based…

--

--

Pranshu "Maverick" Dwivedi

Stay-at-home-dad who "retired" from a 12-year career in finance at the age of 35. Curious thinker with an opinion on nearly everything and is here to share it.